I have come to hate fundraising e-mails!


I will use a letter sent to a friend from a person who is a Tea Party Candidate.  Please read this letter.

Dear T,

I will not vote to raise the debt ceiling.

The answer to our nation’s spending problem is not to spend more — it is to reduce our spending and balance the budget. President Obama is approaching the debt ceiling the wrong way. Any plan that begins by raising the debt ceiling is the wrong plan.

That’s why I’m writing you today — I need to know you agree with me that we simply cannot afford to raise the debt ceiling. Will you help me deliver this message loud and clear by making an emergency contribution of $25, $50, $100, $250 or any amount up to the $2,500 limit?

I will not sit by and watch Barack Obama mislead the nation while simultaneously jeopardizing our children’s and grandchildren’s future. I continue to stand up against not only Barack Obama and the Democrats but also the leadership of my own party when I don’t agree with them.

It’s time to make the tough choices and make the spending cuts necessary to balance our budget. I am running for President of the United States to restore our constitutional conservative values to government and put our nation back on a path towards prosperity.

Will you let me know you stand with me by making a special emergency gift to my campaign today? Your contribution will help me continue to spread the word about the President’s disastrous policies and why it’s wrong to increase the debt ceiling without repealing Obamacare and balancing our budget.

Barack Obama’s failed leadership and shameful spending policies have single-handedly put our nation at risk. It is time to stand up to the president and say “no more.”

Will you stand with me today? Your immediate donation will enable my campaign to have the funds necessary to reach out to other like-minded conservatives across the nation.

The Democrats will stop at nothing to silence our voices, but make no mistake — I’ll work even harder to ensure our voices are heard, and I know that you will too.

I look forward to continuing the fight for our constitutional conservative values, and I thank you once more for your friendship and support.

Sincerely,


Michele Bachmann

P.S. Rather than cut spending and get our county back on the right track, Barack Obama is willing sit back and watch our economy slip into another recession. Please show your support for my campaign today by making a donation of $25, $50, $100, or any amount up to the $2,500 legal limit today!

Both my friend and I get letters from candidates almost daily.  I have come to hate this letter.  If you have ever received one from anyone, what you are looking at is the basic formula to get you to give to a campaign.  Sadly, these letter are almost always about a singular issue that the candidate tells you they are OUTRAGED about.  They then tell you the  only way to defeat the offender is to give to the candidate.

In this case Michelle Bachmann says we need to make an EMERGENCY donation?  Why?  Will giving her money today actually make a difference in the debt debate?  This is an insidious format and as soon as I get a fundraising letter from a candidate in this particular format, and that is often, they will not receive my support.

To be sure this format is used by both sides.  Here is one from MoveOn.org.

Mike –

Holy smokes! We can win in Wisconsin!

 

Yesterday we sent you an email asking you to chip in to help win the recall elections that could undo the attacks on workers in Wisconsin. As of yesterday afternoon, we had blown through our initial goal of $185,000! We’ve now doubled our goal to $370,000 so we can double down on our efforts.

 

The recall elections in Wisconsin are just 40 days away. This is a huge chance to reverse the infamous anti-worker law that took away bargaining rights from teachers and other public workers. If progressives unseat just three of the six Republicans facing recall, Democrats will take back control of the state senate.

 

It was revealed yesterday that one of the Republicans being recalled said, “We’ve got tons of government workers in my district—tons…We’ve got to hope that they, kind of, are sleeping” on Election Day.1 We can’t let that happen—together, we can make sure ALL the voters are awake.

 

Can you donate $5 right now to help us mobilize voters to the polls in Wisconsin and stop the tea party Republicans in their tracks?

 

Thanks for all you do.

 

–Adam

 

Yes I get mail from them  why wouldn’t I?

The format is not far off.  Crisis!  The Enemy!  Donate Now or we lose!

Why must they create a monster to get our money from us.   This is the e-mail version of the mud-slinging ad on television.   I never liked those either.  Tell me what you stand for not why the other guy is evil.  Enough!

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Politics, Uncategorized

6 responses to “I have come to hate fundraising e-mails!

  1. SpeakupNJ

    Sorry to see you single out the only true Tea Party candidate, Michelle Bachmann, running for President as your worst example of contribution requests. I get the same letters and emails and much, much more often they come from groups not running for anything but just protesting this or that but wanting money in an EMERGENCY . At the very least you need to recognize Bachmann is actually RUNNING RIGHT NOW for office. That being said I disagree with your premise about the effect of a donation on her message . Donating to her AT THIS TIME can have a BIG effect on getting her message out for election. That message I might add is the message the Tea Party stands behind. You missed the mark here in my opinion. Bachmann of ALL people is not the best conservative poster person to single out for this contributon request rant .

    • mikemadden59

      But hers was the letter that was in front of me. And my point was, in case you missed it, that they all do it. It is the modern day mus sling. As always thanks for you input Tom.

  2. Yes, it is easy for anyone to fashion email requests for money, Obama did it successfully as a candidate and nobody knew he or what he was!

  3. mikeh

    1st : When I get that letter; into the fireplace it goes.

    2nd: Be careful when shredding. Many scatter your personal info throughout the several-paged mailing. Know this and look for it.

    3rd: I’ve sowrn not to give a brass farthing to anyone who recklessly uses my personal info that way.

    4th: I hope they never get your phone number. I guarantee that you will have just inserted your first fork-full of dinner……….and THEN the phone will ring.

  4. Gadzooks

    Unfortunately, they all have to do the fund raising bit. The latest email request from Tim Pawlenty’s campaign led me to the following ad at his website: https://action.timpawlenty.com/initiative/hockey

    I thought it was a pretty good (and positive) idea to offer something in return for a contribution. Liked the accompanying message too. I’m not a big hockey fan, but I think the jersey is pretty cool looking, although $100 is over my usual limit per individual political contribution.

    On the other hand, they couldn’t pay ME enough for the promo that the POTUS recently advertised offering the privilege of having dinner with him, (even after adding Joe BiteMe to the deal).

    • mikemadden59

      I do not mind receiving dunning letters. I HATE ones that cry the other side is evil help me beat them give quick!. Just don’t like the style

Leave a Reply

